SQLBits 8

Was awesome. Period.

Seriously, when you remember that this is a community conference, organised by people in their spare time, that took over the Grand Hotel in Brighton for three days, delivering maybe 70 different sessions of material from international speakers to over 600 delegates, I’m astounded.

If you attended my session, then thankyou, and I sincerely hope you enjoyed it. Please make sure that you complete the session feedback and also complete the overall conference feedback survey. This will ensure that SQLBits continues to just get better and better every time, and provides invaluable feedback to speakers as well.

As I said in my presentation, you can find a lot of the material on which I based my talk already in this blog, including information about the OS OpenData, loading shapefiles to SQL Server, geocoding, and preparing data for routefinding. I’ll also be posting new posts over the coming weeks to cover any missing bits.

All the sessions were recorded, and I think that these will be available online in a month or so. In the meantime, here’s a little video of me preparing the routefinding section of my presentation backstage (courtesy of Jamie Thompson):

This entry was posted in SQL Server and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SQLBits 8

  1. Christian Mead says:

    Hi Alastair

    I attended your session at SQL Bits 8, and am having a play with the OpenData from the Ordnance Survey.

    I was wondering if it would be possible to get the Silverlight code that you used in your demonstration??

    Kind regards
    Christian

Leave a Reply

